***

Whole chicken experiment, day 4

Media_httpecximagesam_uduxa

Why make your own stock? Well, what else would you do with your bones? Throw it out. Shameful. Home made chicken stock is unbelievably better than the canned stuff; It is more flavorful and adds depth to the dish. Plus it’s ridiculously easy to make! Even easier if you have a slow cooker.

HINT: Buy soup socks. Soup socks allows you to cook everything into cloth sieves, making clean up and separating the ingredients a snap. “Remove the sock and leave the stock!”

Usually, I throw the chicken carcass into one sock and the mirepoix into another sock, toss those two socks into the slow cooker, fill the cooker 3/4 of the way with water, season a bit and in the words of Ron Popeil, “set it and forget it.” I come home and voila I have stock that I will use as a base for risottos, soups, quinoa, etc. Trust me, everything tastes better with home made stock.

Last night, since I wanted to make a meal of this as part of my experiment, instead of diced onions, celery and carrots I tossed into the sock chunks of onions, carrots, leeks, potatoes, turnips, radishes and some fresh herbs. When I got home, I scooped out, bagged and tossed into the freezer some of the stock, threw out the sock of chicken bones and opened up the sock of veggies into the remaining soup and tossed in some elbow macaroni. Too easy!

Standard

Thoughts?

